Random Recipe: Spiced Iced Tea

I recently realized that at some point in the pretty near future I will have to start cooking for myself (and my friends if I want to entertain). This got me motivated to start learning to cook. Over the summer, I progressed from browning meat to a full-scale dinner party. Now that I can cook some things on my own, I have started to really enjoy it. That and hours of Cooking Channel inspired me to branch out and try new recipes. Knowing that I would cheat myself out of real adventure if I didn’t leave it up to fate, I decided to randomly choose my next recipe. I picked up The Jubilee of our Many Blessings Cookbook from the United Methodist Women of the Highland Park United Methodist Church at a local thrift store over the summer, and had been dying to try it out. So, using a random number generator app I found, I picked a page to make a recipe from. I ended up in the drinks section and picked out this Spiced Iced Tea recipe from the ones on that page. It was super easy to make. Just boil the water and stir everything in. And the end product was delicious. It tasted like fall, but it wasn’t hot, which is important when you live in a hot climate like I do. I highly recommend you whip up a batch next time you are thirsty.  

Image

Here’s the recipe:

3 cups boiling water

6 tea bags

¼ teaspoon nutmeg

¼ teaspoon cinnamon

½ cup sugar

2 cups cranberry juice cocktail

½ cup orange juice

1 ½ cups cold water

 Image

Pour boiling water over tea and add spices. Steep 3 minutes. Remove tea bags, squeezing them. Stir in sugar and cool. Add juices and cold water, chill. Pour into 6 tall glasses filled with ice.

Recipe courtesy of Pam Barger (Mrs. Ron)

One thought on “Random Recipe: Spiced Iced Tea

Leave a Reply

